February’s Crochet Challenge

“Love only grows by sharing. You can only have more for yourself by giving it away to others.”
― Brian Tracy

A few of the beautiful granny squares that were donated.

A few of the beautiful granny squares that were donated.

Once again, we are in need of granny squares to stitch together to make afghans and baby blankets. I was thinking….If one person in every state in the United States sent only one granny square, then we would have 50 additional granny squares for the month of February. Fifty granny squares would help us make 8 baby blankets!!! It may not sound like much to you, but it means a lot to those who are in need of them.

We are looking for 50 volunteers, anywhere in the U.S., who will send us at least ONE granny square each month, to join us in our effort to keep others warm. One granny square is easy and inexpensive to mail. Just fold it over, pop inside of a long envelope, put a stamp on it, and mail!

February is the month of LOVE. Our challenge is to find 50 volunteers across the nation who will pledge to send one granny square a month for the next 11 months to show some love to those in need.

We will post the first name, state, and photos of the granny squares of those who stepped up and met the challenge. Please feel free to pass this on to everyone you know that loves to crochet.

What about you? Will you join us?

We need 7 inch granny squares of any color with a white border to total an 8 inch granny square. Preferably, 4 ply worsted yarn, but we will make any yarn work. Our group generally works with a size J hook.

Granny Squares and donations of yarn can be sent to: GSOL, Att: Rita New, PO BOX 64, Jackson, N.C. 27845

“But I give best when I give from that deeper place; when I give simply, freely and generously, and sometimes for no particular reason. I give best when I give from my heart.”
― Steve Goodier

70 thoughts on “February’s Crochet Challenge

  1. I pledge to make and send you a granny square every month. I am also going to reach out to my crafty friends and family to do the same. I will also post my granny square of the month as a free pattern on my blog, to help others who want to help but don’t have the inspiration needed.

    This is a wonderful program, you Ladies are a loving and positive force in the world. Let’s keep at it!

    Kristin Mickelson
    Cre8tive Together

    Ps- if you don’t already have a Facebook page for this you should!

  2. Thank you so much, Hooksandhens!
    We need 7 inch granny squares of any color with a white border to total an 8 inch granny square. Preferably, 4 ply worsted, but we will make any yarn work. 🙂 Thank you for asking! I will add those instructions to my post.

    • Great! Count me in! I’ll just wait for more information. (I also noticed you were trying to get someone in each state… if you still need a Utah, consider it done!)

  3. Reblogged this on Pretty Little Knit Stitches and commented:
    I was recently involved in a community afghan making project. It was incredibly satisfying and inspiring. What a simple and effective way to help out. This blog is asking crocheters to donate 1 granny square a month to make blankets for charity. Granny squares are so easy and my favorite thing to crochet. I’m really excited to have found this blog.

  4. Thank you for sharing this article quite interesting and, hopefully true happiness rays began to warm our hearts and make the heart glad, when we can share it with sincere to each other. Affectionate greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

  5. Pingback: Cabbage Patch Hat | GRANNY SQUARES OF LOVE CROCHET

  6. Pingback: This Is What Love Looks Like | GRANNY SQUARES OF LOVE CROCHET

  7. Pingback: Granny Squares of Love – February’s project: A Simple Square Free Crochet Pattern | Cre8Tive Together

  8. I did it! I issued your February challenge with a square pattern for GSOL and another project made from the same pattern, an elegant clutch on our blog: Cre8TiveTogether.net

    More to come!

  9. I can’t wait to participate – I am in Texas. (I saw one of the comments that you will be getting squares from Spring, TX. I am in Del Rio, which is right on the border so if I drive far enough to mail them you could almost count them as Mexico. LOL!!)) I linked this post on my blog as well. I am SO glad that I found y’all. I am now a subscriber too. 🙂

  10. Is it always a white border or is that just for this month? I am trying to make some but was wondering if I make them if in the future months need a white border also? Thanks.

  11. Pingback: What A Few Ladies With A Crochet Hook Can Do… | CROCHET GRANNY SQUARES OF LOVE

  12. Pingback: Love Links and Granny Squares | CROCHET GRANNY SQUARES OF LOVE

  13. Pingback: A new mission | Not an Ordinary Day

  14. Just found your blog after you visited mine. Did you get people from all the states? Do you need more people? I am in Ut and I would love to learn your square – I saw there is a link to instructions. I think it would be fun. LMK Have a happy middle of the week day tomorrow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

